Join Shelby Forums Today

An Evening with Carroll Shelby - Peterson Automotive Museum

Discussion in 'Events Forum' started by rshelby, Oct 26, 2007.

1. rshelby

rshelby ShelbyForums Admin Staff Member

An Evening with Carroll Shelby
    Thursday November 8, 2007 at 6:30pm

Carroll Shelby, the legendary Texan who rose from bankrupt chicken farmer to automotive superstar, speaks of himself today as one who builds “affordable cars that are respected and can beat the competition.” Over the years he’s proven himself as a self-taught, no-nonsense entrepreneur of excellence, seeing the name “Shelby” become an American icon and motorsport legend known throughout the planet, perhaps the automobile world’s most famous, indefatigable name and image of all time. To pay tribute to this man who’s always looked beyond life’s limits, the Petersen Automotive Museum in Los Angeles will present “An Evening with Carroll Shelby” on Thursday, November 8, 2007. This extraordinarily distinctive gala will live on forever for all who join Carroll and his celebrated friends, colleagues and many historic and new cars associated with his career spanning six decades—and still counting.

Continuing the Petersen’s annual tradition of honoring motorsport greats, the buffet dinner and Museum’s program of eminent personality interviews and exciting racing footage—including an auction of prized memorabilia—will be hosted again by racing’s acclaimed master of ceremonies, Dave McClelland. Authentic Shelby vehicles will be displayed at the Museum. Invited pals and colleagues of Carroll Shelby, his wife Cleo, and Shelby family and friends including Bill Neale, Allen Grant, Bill Edgar, Bill Krause, Bob Bondurant, Dan Gurney, Dave Friedman, Don Prudhomme, Jim Hall, John Morton, Linda Vaughn, Parnelli Jones, Phil Remington, Amy Boylan, William Edgar, Dave Friedman, Phil Hill, Tom McIntyre, Dick Messer, Bruce Meyer, Margie Petersen, among others.