Join Shelby Forums Today

'67 GT500 differences

Discussion in '1965-1970 Shelby Mustang GT350 & GT500' started by CK7684, Jan 28, 2011.

1. CK7684

CK7684 Member

Hello, newbie here. I am trying to build a scale model of a 1967 GT500 that my dad used to own. I am wondering about a couple details. The model does not have vents in the hood next to the scoop, but my dad's car did. Looking through a couple books revealed that some cars had them, and some didn't. Can anybody explain why this is? Also, the additional guage pod on my dad's car was on top of the dash, but my research shows that it was supposed to go underneath? Why would this be? One last thing, how would a guy find out where this car is, or if it is still around? I have the VIN from his 1971 registration card...

Thanks!!

2. CK7684

CK7684 Member

3. roddster

roddster Well-Known Member

Well, I'm guessing you are using AMT's 1/25th scale model. If so, and you "need" to have those louvers, go buy an AMT 68 Shelby. Then you cut the louvers out of the 68's hood, and then cut the same size hole in the 67's hood. Glue it together, putty, paint.

4. 67GT500#2100

67GT500#2100 Shelby Forums Pit Crew

What are the last 4 digits of the Vin number? Maybe the current owner post on here.

5. CK7684

CK7684 Member

Thanks, I am using AMT's 67. I already got the '68 so I can use the engine out of it...

Here's some pics of dad's car...

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

6. shelby6t5

shelby6t5 Well-Known Member

Cool Pix! 1122 was in CA as of 4-96, present owner unknown (new registry out in a few weeks I am told!) Your Dad is not listed as a prior owner of the car. I am forwarding this link to the 67 registrar.

Mike

7. Fast Fords

Fast Fords Well-Known Member

My '97 registry says the car was sold in '96 by Keith Harvie of Agoura,CA and the present owner is unknown.I have not got my new registry yet but it may have new additional info.

8. Bob Gaines

Bob Gaines Well-Known Member