Join Shelby Forums Today

Factory Louvered Hoods on 1967 Gt500's

Discussion in '1965-1970 Shelby Mustang GT350 & GT500' started by mherman2, Aug 21, 2007.

1. mherman2

mherman2 Well-Known Member

Attached Files:

Last edited by a moderator: Feb 23, 2008
  2. cobreen

cobreen Well-Known Member

Re: Factory Louvered Hoods on 67 Gt500's

I'm no expert,but have been told they only were delivered with A/C cars.This is SAAC info,but have found out they might not know everything conserning these cars....
    FGH

3. TLEA

TLEA Well-Known Member

I's m pretty sure I've seen a few non AC cars with them but I'm not sure they were original

4. patty.dilabio

patty.dilabio Well-Known Member

Hi All on this thread.With all the years with these cars,Ive yet to see any information on which cars had the louvered hood,and or why.I can tell you that at least 3 different sources supplied shelby with fiberglass parts.The early steel framed hood was made by Borg Warner.Plaza fiberglass in Canada made an all fiberglass hood.Another company supplied parts and often you will see OBA and a part number cast into the part,but I cannot confirm they made hoods.Berry plastics also was a fiberglass supplier.It would be nice to see some documents-invoices or something to verify who what when where..I think it would be good to ask Dave Matthews.

5. Magstar

Magstar Well-Known Member

Did anybody repop the louvered hoods there seems to be alot of them showing up on cars with no air?

6. 67GT500#2100

67GT500#2100 Shelby Forums Pit Crew

Yes repos are available. I have seen a few louvered hoods on non A.C. cars but one guy I talked to at the SAAC convention a few years ago at M.I.S. admitted that his original hood was not louvered. So, I have yet to see a non A.C. car with proof that it came with a louvered hood other than Charley's super snake.

7. Bob Gaines

Bob Gaines Well-Known Member